Design re-use

Hi all, I’m a CS student who’s recently gained interest in logical redstone as it allows me to learn in a more interactive way about digital systems.

I’ve been watching some of mattbatwings’ videos and recreated a very slightly altered version of his CPU. I rebuilt the ALU from his cancel-carry adder tutorial and slapped some additional controllable gates on top such that I can reproduce all the operations but in a slightly different way. For example, AND is produced by XOR’ing the final output with the OR signal among other differences. Probably less efficient, absolutely less compact for sure, but slightly easier for me to wrap my head around than the one built with sammyuri (the layers overlapping and mixing to make it more compact makes it quite difficult to figure out what’s going on).

I copied the ROM, register file and HEX segment displays outright from his world downloads and connected them to my own ALU. Being able to use a modified version of the assembler script from matt’s Github is a bonus because writing the ROM by hand is a pain. I do intend on writing my own in Rust because that seems like a fun way to finally start learning Rust.
I have added ADC and SBC (pseudo) instructions which take in the contents of the carry registers such that you can work with numbers larger than 8-bits. I freed up an opcode by only having a branch instruction with 3 bits as argument that encodes the branch condition (111 being ‘always’, 000 ‘carry,’ 001 ‘not carry’, 010, ‘zero’ and I have some left over for things like equal, greater than by combining the status registers). The ‘jmp’ instruction is just a pseudo instruction that resolves to “bif always” so I don’t need that opcode. There’s no RAM yet, altough I can use the registers for the HEX display as memory mapped IO.